horizontal bar
Library Home Page
Hours & Directions
Library Catalog
Library Programs
SeniorNet
Children's & Teen Links
Local Information






 

 

 

 

About the Library  |  Library Services & Policies  |  Friends of Kent Library  |  Library Board  |  Library Staff

HomeAccess logoThe following databases contain magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, as well as encyclopedia and atlas entries, web site links, and images. You can access them from home using your library card.

America's Genealogy Bank | America's Newsmagazines | America's Newspapers | America's Obituaries & Death Notices |Bowker Books in Print Patron & Fiction Connection | Business & Company Resource Center | Chilton's Auto Repair Manuals | Contemporary Authors & Contemporary Literary Criticism Select | Country Watch | EBSCO Animals | EBSCO MasterFile Select | Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia | Gale Virtual Reference Library | General Science Collection | Grolier Online | Health & Wellness Resource Center | HeritageQuest  |  Informé | InfoTrac Custom Newspapers | Learning Express Library | InfoTrac Jr. |NoveList |Price It! | Primary Search | ProQuest | Rosetta Stone | Searchasaurus | Topic Search | Twain's Authors Series |
America's Genealogy Bank*
Quickly find your ancestors in over four centuries of rare documents and records. Search thousands of historical newspapers, books, pamphlets and genealogies. Plus, the complete American State Papers, U.S. Serial Set, Social Security Death Index and more than 22 million obituaries.
*Your library card must be from the Kent Public Library to access this database. 

America's Newsmagazines*
Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from familiar magazines.
*Your library card must be from the Kent Public Library to access this database. 


America's Newspapers*
Newsbank offers two great newspaper databases: America's Newspapers, which includes the Journal News as well as hundreds of newspapers from around the county and America's Obituaries and Death Notices.

*Your library card must be from the Kent Public Library to access this database.

 

America's Obituaries and Death Notices
The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. Extensive editorial review of all newspaper sections ensures thorough selection of obituaries for easy access. An easy-to-use interface allows searching by name, date range, or text such as institutional name, social affiliation(s), geographic location(s), philanthropic activities, etc.
*Your library card must be from the Kent Public Library to access this database. 

Bowker Books In Print Patron & Fiction Connection
Use Bowker's Books In Print to find publication information. The Fiction Connection can help you discover books similar to ones you have enjoyed in the past.

Non-Fiction Connection
Non-Fiction Connection can help you discover books similar to ones you have enjoyed in the past. Genres Covered: True Crime, Travel, Adventure, Animal, Culinary, History, Humor, Medical, Political, Religious, Sports, and Science.

Business and Company Resource Center
A comprehensive database of respected information sources for business professionals, casual investors, students of finance, economics, and marketing, and for anyone researching prospective employers. Includes:
- More than 500,000 company profiles
- Stock prices
- Investment reports
- Industry statistics
- Industry newsletter news and analysis
- Business journal news and analysis
Chilton's Auto Repair Manuals
Includes all domestic cars to date and imports 2000-2006.
Contemporary Authors & Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (Gale Literary Databases)
Search for biographies and critical responses to today's most influential voices.
EBSCO Animals
In-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals, describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
EBSCO MasterFILE Select
Full text for nearly 800 general reference publications, updated daily, with coverage dating as far back as 1984. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Select also includes 37 full text reference books and an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
16 searchable online reference titles on such topics as medicine and health, history, culture, fashion, law, and business.
Gale Testing & Educational Reference Center
Provides users with in-depth information on colleges and universities, graduate and professional programs, distance learning, corporate training, available scholarships and awards, preparatory entrance tests and much more.
General Science Collection
This database offers full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications, providing information on all aspects of the scientific world. The General Science Collection offers full text information dating back as far as 1992. (Click on MasterFile Select link, then on Databases tab to access this database.)

Grolier Online
Grolier Online Kids and Grolier Online Passport is designed for children in grade 3 and up and includes reference sources such as The New Book of Knowledge, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia Americana, The New Book of Popular Science, America the Beautiful, Lands and Peoples, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, Aula de español, and much more.

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Access full-text articles and indexing of nursing, health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines, alternative health magazines and journals, reference books, newsletters, pamphlets, and newspapers.
HeritageQuest
Search U.S. Federal census records, as well as genealogy and local history books and periodicals.
This database is offered to holders of library cards from Putnam County libraries through funding from Putnam County.

Having trouble accessing HeritageQuest from home? Here are some tips & solutions

Informé
A Spanish language database that includes magazine articles, periodicals, and full-text of El Nuevo, a Florida Spanish language newspaper.

 

 

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers
National Newspaper Index
New York Newspapers
Full-text of 150 newspapers, including nine newspapers from New York State, full text from 2000 of the New York Times, plus indexes and abstracts for the Christian Science Monitor, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal.

 

InfoTrac Junior
Designed especially for junior high and middle school. More than 90 full-text magazines, newspaper articles, Information Please Almanac (Atlas and Yearbook), Sports Almanac and Environmental Almanac, 300+ full color Rand McNally maps, an encyclopedia, dictionary and more.

Learning Express Library*
Practice tests such as: AP, civil service, college entrance, cosmetology, EMS, fire-fighter, miliatry, law enforcement, nursing and health careers, real estate, GED, GRE, TOEFL, teaching, and citizenship, as well as Microsoft Tutorials.. Also, skills improvement in areas such as Spanish, writing, computer, math, and geneal academic subjects. Includes skills improvement exercises for middle and high school students.
*Your library card must be from the Kent Public Library to access Learning Express Library from this site.

NoveList*
A great database for fiction readers. Find "read-alikes," book lists, book discussion guides, books by genre, books in series, and much more.

*Your library card must be from the Kent Public Library to access this database.

Price It!
For identifying, researching and pricing art, aniques and collectibles.

Primary Search
Full text for 60 popular magazines for elementary school research, updated daily and dating back as far as 1990.

ProQuest
The ProQuest® online information service provides access to thousands of current periodicals and newspapers, many updated daily and containing full-text articles from 1986.

Having trouble accessing ProQuest from home? Here are some tips & solutions.

Rosetta Stone
Online language learning for the following languages: English (UK or US), French, German, Greek, Italian, Russian, Spanish (Spain) and Spanish (Latin American). This database is offered to holders of library cards from Putnam County libraries through funding from Putnam County.
You need to register with your library card barcode number the first time you access this database.

Science Reference Center comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-specific content. Designed to support middle and high school curriculum, Science
Reference Center encompasses all disciplines of science. Biology, chemistry, earth, space, life, physical, and environmental sciences are covered as well as health and medicine, science in society, science as inquiry, history of science, technology, scientists, and wildlife.

Searchasaurus
Specifically designed for the young researcher, featuring an animated dinosaur theme for searching. Includes full-text of over 50 children's magazines, over 1,100 full text historical documents, and Encyclopedia of Animals.
Topic Search
A current events database that explores social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. Full text for over 64,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources.

TumbleBooks
These are animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of
reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books (from children's book publishers such as Scholastic, Chronicle Books, Candlewick Press, Charlesbridge Press, Harcourt, Little Brown, Walker and Company and others) adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

 

Twayne's Authors Series
This database features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series - United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors. This series is devoted to literary critical interpretation and discussion for readers ranging from high school students through college and above.

 

The following databases and online resources may only be used in the library:

Ancestry Library Edition
A genealogy database offering a wide range of source material.

Consumer Reports
Unlimited access to the entire Consumer Reports Online site, access to the current issue of Consumer Reports magazine, and 4 years' worth of product and service rating and recommendations.

 

 

Having Trouble Logging On?

If you are having trouble accessing a database from home, first check to make sure you are authorized to use that database. Some of our databases are available to any library user in the Mid Hudson Library System, but some are only available to users holding a card from Kent Public Library or from a Putnam County library. Those databases that are restricted in this manner are noted.

Troubleshooting ProQuest & HeritageQuest:

You may have to modify your browser and/or security/firewall settings to access ProQuest & HeritageQuest from home. Please see the troubleshooting sheets provided by these databases for more information.

If you are still having trouble accessing the databases, please email us at library@kentlibrary.org.

       


Hours & Directions  |  Library Catalog |   Magazines & Newspapers |  Library Programs |  Children's & Teen Links   |  Library Services & Policies  | About the Library  | Friends of Kent Library  |  Library Board Trustees |  Staff  |   SeniorNet |   Local Information 

Kent Public Library
17 Sybil's Crossing
Kent Lakes
, NY 10512
845.225.8585

fax: 845.225.8549
library@kentlibrary.org

    Number of visitors since September 1, 2004. Counter courtesy of Web Counter